#WhatDoYouDoForFun

If you say so, Betty!

Since moving to Texas, I’ve been venturing out to different MeetUps events and the like to meet new friends. I’m asked the usual questions- where are you originally from? What do you do for work? I’m quick with my responses until I’m asked, what do you like to do for fun? I usually pause and think for a moment before pulling some random answer out of my brain. I then spend the rest of the conversation asking myself, do you really not have hobbies?

I don’t (and it’s sad. Really sad).

Sure, there are things that I like to do. Writing is cool. I like music and TV. I often fall down Reddit and Wikipedia wormholes. But do those really count as my hobbies? I threw this question up on Facebook- how do you find your hobbies? What are some things you enjoy doing? Any suggestions for me? My hive was great with their responses, suggesting that I examine the things that I’m curious about. Let’s see… Things that I’ve always wanted to do… Make a full-length movie. Sing in a band. Write a novel. Surf. Okay, I live nowhere near the ocean but I can try the others. Done. But it’s the next steps that irk me. How do I find a band to sing? Can I even write a novel? How the fuck do I make a movie?!

The part of me that loves to-do lists and due dates (thanks, journalism background!) wants to give deadlines to accomplishing these goals/new hobby ideas. I’m my hardest to fight this planted idea but one of the things with having S.M.A.R.T. goals is not to wander around with them forever. For example, I’ve been working on this book for the last eight years. It’s a horror novel that I’m really excited to write but I just can’t seem to write it (does that make sense?). Each NaNoWriMo, I tell myself that I’m going to finish it but it hasn’t happened (but it will next month!). Should I give myself a deadline for writing, or filmmaking, etc.?

I feel a little pathetic hunting for a hobby but hey, it is what it is. I know that I’m not feeling particularly passionate about anything right now but I will discover one soon.  Hobbies help us boost our quality of life- they’re so important to have. I’m in the pursuit of mine and I know that I will feel fulfilled soon.

What are your hobbies, dear reader? (And if you’re in the Austin area and need a singer for your band, hit me up!).

4 thoughts on “#WhatDoYouDoForFun

  1. Marymary says:

    This question hits so close to home for me, it’s surreal. I had the same experience recently on a date – he asked about my hobbies and I had to fumble for an answer while thinking, wow, I don’t really have any hobbies. Later I was pondering this question and looking at how I spend my time and mental energy, and as I took a few days to observe where my time was going, I realized how much of my mental space is taken up by experiencing and coping with depression. In a way, depression is my hobby. It was a sobering realization, but I also had to laugh – what a shitty hobby! I talked about this in my last therapy session and realized that thinking of depression as my hobby was actually helpful – it’s a strange but useful reminder of the importance of taking my mental health seriously. If I wanted to phrase it more positively, I might say that learning better self-care is my main hobby right now. (Although I probably will still not share that on a first date!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.